Dupsinea.com

Hub of tech.

Dial 192.168.0.1 for your router

Although 19216801 looks like a safe combination, it is also often written as 192.168.0.1. Typically used by some network device manufacturers to set as the default IP address for home broadband routers. To configure the router, the easiest method is to turn on the computer and the router, and connect them to your computer’s network. If you don’t have a network, the router can be connected directly to your computer via the provided cables. Once you open a browser, type this string of numbers in the address bar to launch the router’s home page. You can then proceed to configure the settings according to the specifications of your broadband provider.

As in any process to configure settings, a username and corresponding password are required to authenticate the user. For first time setup, each manufacturer provides their username and password to enter their setup. Depending on the need, you may or may not want to change the password, as setting up a router is not an everyday activity. If you change the password, remember to write it down to save and record it in the future.

A year later, your home broadband router settings need to be changed. If you can’t remember the username and password, or find the little piece of paper you wrote them down on, you may need to guess smart. In the event that you’re pretty sure you didn’t change the defaults, there are usually some username and password combinations that should work. Alternatively, there is a published list of the manufacturer’s brand name, default IP address, username and password for public reference. Hopefully this gets you out of trouble.

If all of the above fails, the last resort is to reboot your router. There is normally a button located on the back of the router to accomplish this purpose. Pressing it for the recommended amount of time resets all settings, including the password. You can then access the router by typing 19216801 in a browser, with the default username and password on its login page. Since previously defined configurations are also deleted, it is recommended to safely save those configurations to the previous configuration. Write them down or take a screenshot of the configuration.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *